Print this article - Cross Country Opened Season At Elon In Dual Meet print
Article rss feed - Cross Country Opened Season At Elon In Dual Meet rss

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The UNCG men’s and women’s cross country teams opened the 2014 season Saturday morning by taking part in the UNCG-Elon Dual Meet hosted by Elon at the Elon Cross Country Course. Both the men and women ran on the 5,000-meter course in the season-opening race, which saw Elon claim both team victories.

On the men’s side, freshman Luke Sumerford (Greensboro, N.C./Grimsley) was the Spartans’ top finisher placing seventh overall. Sumerford posted a time of 17:15.63 in his first career collegiate race while Elon’s Sam Geha won the men’s race with a time of 16:20.85.

Two more true freshmen rounded out the top three finishers for UNCG as Brandon King (Burnsville, N.C./Mitchell) and Bryan Whyms (Charlotte, N.C./Northside Christian Academy) finished ninth and 10th, respectively. King posted a time of 17:31.53 while Whyms clocked in at 17:34.35.

On the women’s side, sophomore Katlyn Adkins (Fayetteville, N.C./Terry Sanford) was the Spartans’ top finisher in 10th place overall with a time of 22:39.29. Elon’s Jenny Gallagher won the women’s 5,000-meter race with a time of 18:26.87.

Rounding out the top three for the Spartans was sophomore Samiiah Wilson (Apex, N.C./Cardinal Gibbons) and freshman Sarah DeSantis (Hope Mills, N.C./South View). Wilson placed 11th overall with a time of 23:10.13 while DeSantis turned in a tie of 23:21.41 for a 12th-place showing in her first career collegiate race.

The UNCG cross country teams will return to action Sept. 13 on the same course as it takes part in the annual Elon Invitational.

UNCG Men’s Cross Country Times At UNCG-Elon Dual Meet
7. Luke Sumerford – 17:15.63
9. Brandon King – 17:31.53
10. Bryan Whyms – 17:34.35
12. Robel Tecle – 18:05.65
13. John Elwood – 19:17.03
14. Jonathan Hodge – 19:30.48
15. Andrew Ramsey – 22:01.08

UNCG Women’s Cross Country Times at UNCG-Elon Dual Meet
10. Katlyn Adkins – 22:39.29
11. Samiiah Wilson – 23:10.13
12. Sarah DeSantis – 23:21.41
13. Meredith Hicks – 23:35.53
14. Haley Wenos – 24:36.35