Print this article - Chad Sykes Receives All-American Accolades from Collegiate Baseball print
Article rss feed - Chad Sykes Receives All-American Accolades from Collegiate Baseball rss

TUCSON, Ariz. – UNC Greensboro baseball’s standout redshirt senior reliever Chad Sykes received Third Team All-American honors from Collegiate Baseball, the organization announced on Thursday, May 30.

Sykes, the only Southern Conference player honored by Collegiate Baseball, picked up his fourth postseason award after being named SoCon Pitcher of the Year and First Team All-SoCon by the league’s coaches, while also earning First Team All-SoCon by the media.

Sykes ended the regular season with the lowest ERA (0.96) among all NCAA Division I pitchers, one of five major statistical categories that the Creedmoor, N.C., native ranked in nationally. The others include hits allowed per nine innings (17th-5.79), saves (31st-11), WHIP (51st-1.04) and strikeouts per nine innings (63rd-10.93).

Sykes closed with a 6-3 record and 11 saves in 56 innings after surrendering just 36 hits, seven runs (six earned), 22 walks while converting 68 strikeouts in 27 appearances for the Spartans. On the UNCG pitching staff, Sykes ranked among the top five in eight major statistical categories including earned run average (1st-0.96), opposing batting average (1st-.181), saves (1st-11), wins (2nd-6), batters struck out (2nd-68), appearances (2nd-27), relief appearances (2nd-27), innings pitched (4th-56) and batters struck out looking (4th-21).

Sykes’ effectiveness in SoCon play resulted in a 1.20 ERA, 2-2 record and eight saves. He made 13 appearances over the course of league play, logging 30 innings, allowing just 14 hits and four earned runs. Sykes fanned 32 opposing hitters among the eight different league opponents that he faced. Sykes recorded multiple strikeouts in 11 of the 13 SoCon games he pitched, including a season-best five at Mercer where he earned his third save.

2019 Collegiate Baseball Postseason All-American Team

Pos Player School
LHP Ethan Small Mississippi St.
RHP Alex Manoah West Virginia
LHP Jake Agnos East Carolina
RHP Ryan Garcia UCLA
RHP Noah Song Navy
Relief Kyle Hill Baylor
C Adley Rutschman ^ Oregon St.
1B Bobby Seymour Wake Forest
1B Tristan Peterson New Mexico St.
2B Nick Gonzales New Mexico St.
3B Kody Hoese Tulane
SS Joey Ortiz New Mexico St.
OF Jake Sanford Western Kentucky
OF JJ Bleday Vanderbilt
OF Kevin Strohschein Tennessee Tech.
DH Aaron Sabato North Carolina
UT Alec Burleson East Carolina
^-National Player Of The Year
Pos Player School
LHP Reid Detmers Louisville
RHP Emerson Hancock Georgia
RHP Jack Ralston UCLA
LHP Jack Dashwood U.C. Santa Barbara
RHP Ryan Jensen Fresno St.
LHP Connor Thomas Georgia Tech.
LHP Andrew Saalfrank Indiana
RHP Drake Fellows Vanderbilt
RHP Patrick Raby Vanderbilt
RHP Isiah Campbell Arkansas
RHP Drey Jameson Ball St.
LHP Zack Thompson Kentucky
Relief Tyler Brown Vanderbilt
Relief Holden Powell UCLA
Relief Jake Wallace Connecticut
Relief Aaron Ochsenbein Eastern Kentucky
Relief Garrett Acton Illinois
C Kyle McCann Georgia Tech.
C Luis Trevino Abilene Christian
C Korey Lee California
1B Andrew Vaughn California
1B Spencer Torkelson Arizona St.
2B Cameron Cannon Arizona
2B Justin Foscue Mississippi St.
3B Austin Martin Vanderbilt
3B Nick Quintana Arizona
SS Will Wilson N.C. State
SS Josh Jung Texas Tech.
OF Hunter Bishop Arizona St.
OF Parker Phillips Austin Peay
OF Peyton Burdick Wright St.
UT J.C. Flowers Florida St.
Pos Player School
RHP John Stankiewicz Fordham
LHP Steve Theetge Bryant
LHP TJ Sikkema Missouri
RHP Trenton Denholm U.C. Irvine
LHP Dan Metzdorf Boston College
LHP Nick Lodolo Texas Christian
Relief Evan Brabrand Liberty
Relief Chad Sykes UNC Greensboro
Relief Reeves Martin New Orleans
Relief Jaime Arias Fresno St.
Relief Taylor Rashi U.C. Irvine
Relief Matt Cronin Arkansas
C Eric Yang U.C. Santa Barbara
C Patrick Bailey N.C. State
1B Jake Holton Creighton
1B Tanner Allen Mississippi St.
1B Rudy Rott Ohio
2B Oliver Dunn Utah
2B Cody Morissette Boston College
2B Jimmy Govern Eastern Illinois
3B McCarthy Tatum Fresno St.
3B Davis Wendzel Baylor
3B Tyler LaPorte Southern
SS Nate Fassnacht George Washington
SS Nick Grande Stony Brook
SS Bryson Stott Nevada-Las Vegas
SS Grae Kessinger Mississippi
OF Jake Mangum Mississippi St.
OF Chris Lanzilli Wake Forest
OF Ethan Wilson South Alabama
OF Grayson Byrd Clemson
UT Chris Wright Bryant