Print this article - Gomez Earns Southern Conference All-Freshman Honors print
Article rss feed - Gomez Earns Southern Conference All-Freshman Honors rss

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Freshman Brianna Gomez earned Southern Conference All-Freshman honors for her performance on the court this season. The All-Freshman award is the third-straight season that the Spartans have had an honoree on the All-Freshman team.

Gomez finished the 2018 regular season with a team-best 15-3 record and was 5-1 in Southern Conference action. She started her first collegiate spring season by winning her first 10 matches at No. 6 singles. After dropping her first match of the season, she went on to win three-straight at flights five and four and finished the season winning back-to-back matches at No. 4. This season, she had seven matches go three-sets where she earned a 5-2 record. She earned 10-wins in straight sets and defeated SoCon opponents from ETSU, Furman, Mercer, Wofford and Chattanooga.

Furman led all Southern Conference teams with seven honorees, including two first team selections including the SoCon’s Player of the Year, Katarina Kozarov. Kozarov was a first team honoree and is joined by teammate Katty Weymouth. Furman’s Danni Vines and Carol Elizabeth Kerman earned second team honors in singles while Vines and Georgie Walker were named second team in doubles.

Wofford’s Jenna Vroman took home the league’s Freshman of the Year award after going 13-4 and 5-2 in SoCon play and earned Second Team All-SoCon honors.

First Team


Alory Pereira, ETSU

Ioanna Markesini, ETSU

Katarina Kozarov, Furman

Katty Weymouth, Furman

Katie Sidor, Mercer

Roos van der Zwaan, Samford


Alory Pereira/Ioanna Markesini, ETSU

Roos van der Zwaan/Ellie Gerlach, Samford

Cassidy Hicks/Jenna Vroman, Wofford

Second Team

Singles (by position)

No. 1 – Samantha Caswell, Chattanooga

No. 2 – Jenna Vroman, Wofford

No. 3 – Danni Vines, Furman

No. 4 – Carol Elizabeth Kerman, Furman

No. 5 – Melissa Esguerra, ETSU

No. 6 – Grace Jennings, Samford

Doubles (by position)

No. 1 – Grace Korta/Katie Sidor, Mercer

No. 2 – Yi Chi Ma/Melissa Esguerra, ETSU

No. 3 – Danni Vines/Georgie Walker, Furman


Alejandra Morales, ETSU

Carol Elizabeth Kerman, Furman

Brianna Gomez, UNCG

Emma Van Hee, Chattanooga

Jordyn King, Western Carolina

Jenna Vroman, Wofford

Player of the Year

Katarina Kozarov, Furman

Freshman of the Year

Jenna Vroman, Wofford

Sportsmanship Award

Elsa Pool, Samford

Coach of the Year

David Vest, Samford

Gomez and the Spartans begin play at the Southern Conference Tournament this Friday at 1 p.m. as they take on Furman in the first round of the tournament in Chattanooga.