Top 10 Moments Of 2016-17: No. 7 Connor Thompson Named SoCon Player Of The Year 07-13-2017

GREENSBORO, N.C. – As we wrap up the 2016-17 athletic year for the UNCG Spartans, we are taking a moment to look back at everything Spartan student-athletes, coaches and teams accomplished during the successful campaign. Overall, the Spartans won three Southern Conference championships, appeared in three postseason tournaments and posted the highest GPA across the board in the athletic department in program history during the 2016-17 campaign. has identified the top 10 moments from 2016-17 and will be counting down the memories over the next two weeks. Moments No. 10-6 will be released July 10-14 while moments No. 5-1 will be released July 17-21.

The No. 7 moment of the 2016-17 season came April 19 when men's tennis junior Connor Thompson (Atlanta, Ga./Holy Innocents) was named the Southern Conference Player of the Year.

Connor Thompson Named SoCon Men's Tennis Player of the Year

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – UNCG men's tennis junior Connor Thompson (Atlanta, Ga./Holy Innocents) was named the Southern Conference's Player of the Year as announced by the league office. The postseason awards were voted on by the league's head coaches.

Thompson posted a 16-3 overall record and a 6-1 mark in SoCon play at No. 1 singles.  Thompson finished 16-4 at No. 1 doubles with three different partners.  He won nine-straight matches at No. 1 from March 5-April 2. During that span he went to three sets just twice, including a victory over No. 69 David Biosca of ETSU at home for his second SoCon victory.

Thompson never lost back-to-back matches on the season and won three-straight matches three times, including the nine match-winning streak. He also won 12-straight matches at No. 1 doubles during the year.  During that span, he defeated SoCon-rivals Chattanooga, ETSU, Mercer and The Citadel. He ended the season winning five of his last six matches at No.1 doubles, defeating Samford and took both of the No. 1 doubles matches in the SoCon Tournament against Wofford and ETSU.  

Thompson becomes the third Spartan to earn the SoCon's Player of the Year award, joining Alex Lehnhott (1999) and Orcun Seyrek (2009 and 2012).  Thompson earned first team honors and the pair of Thompson and William Albright (Greensboro, N.C./Grimsley) took home first team doubles honors. 

-- UNCG --



Men's Soccer 9-19-2018
Spartan Showcase: Men's Soccer Episode 1
Volleyball 9-19-2018
Spartan Showcase: Volleyball Episode 1
Women's Soccer 9-19-2018
Spartan Showcase: Women's Soccer Episode 1
SoCon Digital Network