Print this article - Thompson Named Player of the Year; Four Others Earn All-SoCon Honors print
Article rss feed - Thompson Named Player of the Year; Four Others Earn All-SoCon Honors rss

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Senior Connor Thompson won his second-consecutive Southern Conference Player of the Year award after another dominating season in 2018. Thompson finished the 2018 spring regular season 16-4 and was a perfect 7-0 at No. 1 singles in SoCon matches. He becomes the third Spartan to win Player of the Year honors twice, joining Alex Lehnhoff and Orcun Seyrek.

Thompson was named First Team All-SoCon in singles and doubles play, marking the second-straight season he’s been a two-time First Team honoree. Freshman Nico Grewe teamed up with Thompson to be one of the top doubles pairings in the SoCon. This is Grewe’s first All-SoCon honor. A trio of Spartans earned Second Team All-SoCon honors. Freshman Ollie Palmer earned the nod in singles action, with the pair of Marcus Vidgren and Logan Walker taking home the honors in doubles play. Palmer also earned SoCon All-Freshman honors for his performance this season.

Thompson dropped the first match of the season, but responded by winning three-straight. After dropping back-to-back matches for the first time in two seasons, Thompson went on to win his next 12-straight matches before falling in non-conference play. He ended the regular season with a straight-set win over Chattanooga’s Niklas Gerdes. This season, Thompson won in straight sets 12 times and of his four losses, he battled to three sets in two. In doubles play, Thompson worked with two partners before finding a groove with Grewe. The pair won six of its last seven matches to end the year, earning wins in SoCon play over pairs from Mercer, The Citadel and Chattanooga.

Ollie Palmer took home the next individual honor, earning Second Team All-SoCon and SoCon All-Freshman honors. Palmer competed at flights two and three throughout much of the season, earning a 13-7 record and a 5-2 mark in SoCon play. Palmer started his first spring season by winning six-straight matches before suffering his first loss. He earned SoCon wins over opponents from Samford, Mercer, The Citadel, Wofford and Chattanooga. He closed the season strong, winning four of his last five and three straight headed into the SoCon Tournament.

The doubles team of Walker and Vidgren ended the season with a 5-5 overall mark, but were dominant in SoCon play, earning a 5-1 record. The paring won its first match together, knocking off a pair from Samford early in the year. Over the last few weeks, Walker and Vidgren have competed at No. 2 doubles and earned wins over pairs from Furman, Mercer, The Citadel and Wofford.

First Team


Sergi Fontcuberta, ETSU

Robert Herrera, ETSU

Cameron Green, Furman

Sam Philp, Mercer

Olivier Stuart, Mercer

Connor Thompson, UNCG


Cameron Green/Jake Munns, Furman

Sam Philp/Oliver Stuart, Mercer

Connor Thompson/Nico Grewe, UNCG

Second Team

Singles (by position)

No. 1 – Lucas Cerbelli, Wofford

No. 2 – Ollie Palmer, UNCG

No. 3 – Edu Villar, Wofford

No. 4 – Fernando Guardia, Mercer

No. 5 – Aleksandar Petrovic, Samford

No. 6 – Miguel Este, ETSU

Doubles (by position)

No. 1 – Jake Faundez/Eduardo Lourido, Samford

No. 2 – Marcus Vidgren/Logan Walker, UNCG

No. 3 – Sergi Fontcuberta/David Gonzalez, ETSU


Ivan Mitric, Furman

Ollie Palmer, UNCG

Aleksandar Petrovic, Samford

Rossouw Norval, Samford

Edu Villar, Wofford

Omar Williams, Wofford

Player of the Year

Connor Thompson, UNCG

Freshman of the Year

Ivan Mitric, Furman

Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award

Niklas Gerdes, Chattanooga

Coach of the Year

Eric Hayes, Mercer

The men’s tennis team returns to the court at the SoCon Tournament in Chattanooga as the fourth seed and will take on Samford at 8:30 a.m. Friday morning.