Trevis Simpson named to coaches All-Southern Conference squad 02-27-2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. –UNCG sophomore Trevis Simpson has been named all-Southern Conference in voting by league coaches, the conference office announced on Tuesday.

Currently the SoCon's leading scorer at 18.2 points per game, Simpson is the only Spartan named to the 10-man team. Davidson's Bob McKillop and De'Mon Brooks were named Coach and Player of the Year, respectively.

Simpson is UNCG's first all-conference selection in two seasons. He helped lead the Spartans to the SoCon North Division title and a number one seed in this weekend's conference tournament, which begins Friday in Asheville.

Entering the conference tournament, the 6-foot-4 swingman not only leads the league in scoring but also ranks among conference leaders in 3-pointers per game (2.0, t-5th) and free throw percentage (.752, 14th). He is also averaging 4.2 rebounds per game. With 509 points on the season, Simpson ranks ninth in UNCG single-season history.

During the 2011-12 season, Simpson has enjoyed several outstanding performances but none were better than his efforts in a loss at Miami (Fla.) on Jan. 2. Against the Hurricanes, Simpson scored a career and SoCon individual season-high 36 points, hitting a career-best seven 3-pointers and adding a flurry of highlight reel dunks. One of his dunks from that game earned him a spot the following day on ESPN's Top 10 Plays.

Simpson owns 12 games of 20 or more points, including a string of six straight games between late January and mid-February in which he scored 23 or more points in six straight contests.


All-Conference Team
Trent Wiedeman, College of Charleston
Antwaine Wiggins, College of Charleston
Mike Groselle, The Citadel
De'Mon Brooks, Davidson
Jake Cohen, Davidson
Jack Isenbarger, Elon
Eric Ferguson, Georgia Southern
Trevis Simpson, UNCG
Kevin Giltner, Wofford
Brad Loesing, Wofford

All-Freshman Team
Adjehi Baru, College of Charleston
Austin Hamilton, Elon
Tyler Hood, Samford
Raijon Kelly, Samford
Karl Cochran, Wofford

Player of the Year
De'Mon Brooks, So., F, Davidson

Defensive Player of the Year
Brad Loesing, Sr., G, Wofford

Freshman of the Year
Karl Cochran, G, Wofford

Coach of the Year
Bob McKillop, Davidson


MORE FROM UNCG Men's Basketball


Spartan Club 5-02-2018
Spiro's Ball 2018
Volleyball 4-09-2018
2017 Volleyball Highlights
Men's Basketball 3-27-2018
Men's Basketball Banquet Highlights
SoCon Digital Network