Chambers Earns Second-Team All-Southern Conference Volleyball Accolades 11-13-2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Junior hitter/blocker Karrian Chambers has been named to the 2012 All-Southern Conference Second Team, according to an announcement Wednesday by the league. The all-conference teams were determined through voting by the SoCon's head coaches.

Chambers ranks fifth in the league in kills per set (3.64) while leading UNCG in kills, kills per set and attempts as well as ranking second in service aces and third in digs and digs per set. She also paces the squad in double-doubles with 12 and has produced a double-double in six consecutive contests.

Chambers is one of three Spartans with at least 500 attempts that is hitting over .200. Her mark of .224 is second only to junior Morgan Freeman, who sports a .253 percentage.

In all but five matches in 2012, Chambers has put down double-digit kills and owns four efforts of 20 kills or more – including a career-high 25 against Furman. She also set a personal best earlier this season with 22 digs in matches at Elon and Appalachian State.

Georgia Southern head coach Chad Callihan was selected as the 2012 Coach of the Year. Callihan guided the Eagles to a 15-1 mark in SoCon play and a first-place finish in the South Division after being predicted to finish third in the preseason. Georgia Southern's senior setter Kate Van Dyke was named the Southern Conference Player of the Year.

UNCG begins its quest for a conference tournament title when it plays the Southern Division champion Eagles at Belk Arena in the quarterfinals of the 2012 Southern Conference Championship, hosted by Davidson. First serve is set for 12:30 p.m. and the match follows the first quarterfinal contest between No. 2 North Division seed Elon and No. 3 South Division seed Furman.

Keep up with the UNCG volleyball team all season by logging onto or following the squad on twitter @UNCGsports and @UNCGVB.

2011 SoCon Volleyball All-Conference Team 

All-Conference First Team

Darcy Dorton, College of Charleston      RJr.      OH

Chandler Ambrester, Furman                  Sr.        OH

Natalie Braun, Furman                            Sr.        OH

Meredith Paskert, Georgia Southern       Sr.        OH

Kate Van Dyke, Georgia Southern          Sr.        S

Lauren Hutchinson, Samford                  Sr.        MB

Michaela Reesor, Samford                     So.       OH


All-Conference Second Team

Sloane White, College of Charleston      MB/RS  So.

Caroline Brown, Davidson                      OH       Jr.

Caroline Adams, Furman                        MB       Sr.

Moriah Bellissimo, Georgia Southern      OH       Sr.

Karrian Chambers, UNCG                       H/B       Jr.

Katie Murphy, Samford                          MB       Jr.

Paula Passmore, Chattanooga               L          Sr.


All-Freshman Team

Melissa Morello, College of Charleston   OH

Megan Gravley, Elon                             OH

Ana Nicksic, Elon                                  OH

Jo Wilks, Furman                                  S

Alex Beecher, Georgia Southern             L/DS

Crysten Curry, Georgia Southern            MB

Briana Reid, Chattanooga                      OH


Player of the Year

Kate Van Dyke, Georgia Southern, S, Sr.

Libero of the Year

Paula Passmore, Chattanooga, L, Sr.

Freshman of the Year

Jo Wilks, Furman, S

Coach of the Year

Chad Callihan, Georgia Southern

- UNCG -



Spartan Club 5-02-2018
Spiro's Ball 2018
Volleyball 4-09-2018
2017 Volleyball Highlights
Men's Basketball 3-27-2018
Men's Basketball Banquet Highlights
SoCon Digital Network