UNCG's Wilkins Named Women's Tennis First Team All-SoCon

UNCGSpartans.com 04-15-2013
Courtesy: UNCGSpartans.com

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – UNCG senior Niltooli Wilkins (Burnsville, Minn./Homeschooled) picked up her third straight first team All-Conference honor in singles and doubles, while senior Alex Whitehead(Victoria, Australia/Star of the Sea College), Annette Rios (Santa Ana, El Salvador/Liceo Latinoamericano) and sophomore Kayla Gammie (Port St. Lucie, Fla./Broward Virtual School) earned postseason honors, announced Tuesday. 

"It is always great for our kids to get the recognition that they deserve," said head coach Jeff Trivette. "Every one of our student athletes is all-conference in my book. It is a testament to the work they put in every single day. I'm proud of them all."

Wilkins is 23-10 overall with a 12-6 dual mark that includes a solid 7-3 record in conference play. Wilkins picked up first team honors for the third-straight season in both singles and doubles, while playing all her matches at No. 1 singles. In doubles, partnering with Whitehead, they had a 9-1 record against league foes.

Also earning postseason awards is Rios and Gammie for second team No. 2 doubles. They finished the regular season with a 10-7 overall record, including a 7-1 mark against league opponents. It marks the second-straight season the doubles pair have earned all-conference accolades.

The UNCG women's tennis team earned the fourth seed in this week's tournament. The Spartans play its first match on Friday, April 19, at 9 a.m. at the  Jimmy Powell Tennis Center against fifth-seeded Appalachian State.  

2013 SoCon Women's Tennis Postseason Awards

First Team
Ellie Linsell, Appalachian State
Christin Newman, College of Charleston
Jordan Johnston, Elon
Lauren Kline, Furman
Niltooli Wilkins, UNCG
Jenna Nurik, Chattanooga
Frida Jansaker/Jordan Johnson, Elon
Lauren Kline/Alex Moreno-Kaste, Furman
Niltooli Wilkins/Alex Whitehead, UNCG
Second Team
Singles (by position)
No. 1 – Paola Garrido, Georgia Southern
No. 2 - Frida Jansaker, Elon
No. 3 – Katherine Oudin, Furman
No. 4 - Bryn Khoury, Elon
No. 5 – Kelsey Coots, Chattanooga
No. 6 – Gabriella Celi, Appalachian State
Doubles (by position)
No. 1 – Paola Garrido/Mary Phillips Smith, GSU
No. 2 – Kayla Gammie/Annette Rios, UNCG
No. 3 – Margaret Boyette/Kelly Sullivan, FUR
    Briana Berne/Taylor Casey, Elon
Clare Cox, Appalachian State
Brooke McAmis, College of Charleston
Elaina Cummer, Davidson
Kelsey Coots, Chattanooga
Kayla Jones, Chattanooga
Stacia Kissell, Western Carolina
Player of the Year
Caroline Newman, College of Charleston
Freshman of the Year
Clare Cox, Appalachian State
Sportsmanship Award
Michele Stanford, Furman
Coach of the Year
Angelo Anastopoulo, College of Charleston

MORE FROM UNCG Women's Tennis


Spartan Club 5-02-2018
Spiro's Ball 2018
Volleyball 4-09-2018
2017 Volleyball Highlights
Men's Basketball 3-27-2018
Men's Basketball Banquet Highlights
SoCon Digital Network