Wilkins tabbed SoCon Player of the Year, Trivette Coach of the Year

UNCGSpartans.com 04-16-2012
Courtesy: UNCGSpartans.com

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – UNCG redshirt junior Niltooli Wilkins has been named the Southern Conference Women's Tennis Player of the Year, Jeff Trivette has been named the league's coach of the year and four more Spartans earned all-conference distinction as the SoCon announced its postseason awards Tuesday.

Wilkins, Annette Rios and Stephanie Falcon earned all-conference honors in singles, with Wilkins earning first-team honors and Rios and Falcon taking second-team distinction. Wilkins and Lucy Dougherty were first-team honorees in doubles, while Rios and Kayla Gammie were tabbed for the second team.

Wilkins is 29-6 in singles play this season, matching the school record for wins set by Alejandra Guerra in 2009. Guerra, coincidentally, was the last Spartan before Wilkins to be named the league's player of the year, doing so in 2008.

Wilkins is 19-1 in dual play, all at No. 1, and went 10-0 in the SoCon. She enters the SoCon Championship riding a 19-match winning streak after dropping her first contest of the spring campaign to No. 44 Zoe De Bruycker of North Carolina, 7-5, 7-5. In doubles play, Wilkins is 24-10 overall with a 15-5 dual mark, all at No. 1.

This season, Wilkins was the SoCon Player of the Week and Player of the Month twice each. She took first-team all-conference honors for the second straight year.

Wilkins and Dougherty are 21-10 together this season with a 12-5 dual mark at No. 1. The tandem, which was ranked as high as No. 40 nationally this year, went 6-3 in league play and took first-team All-SoCon honors for the second straight season. Dougherty, a redshirt junior, earned first-team honors for the third time, as she teamed with Valerie Behr in 2009.

Rios took second-team singles honors at No. 3, sharing the spot with Elon's Frida Jansaker. Rios is 18-13 this season with a 14-7 dual mark. The junior went 9-1 in SoCon play, including a 5-0 record at No. 3. Overall, she is 7-1 at No. 3 this season. Rios, who was the SoCon Player of the Week on April 3, earned second-team honors at No. 5 in 2010.

Rios teamed with Gammie, a freshman, to take the second-team spot at No. 3 doubles. Gammie and Rios were 18-4 together overall with a 16-2 dual mark, including a spotless 10-0 SoCon record. Gammie and Rios won 13 straight matches together at one point in the season and went 13-2 at No. 3.

Falcon earned second-team honors at No. 6 singles, sharing the spot with Furman's Amanda Murray. Falcon, a freshman, is 25-9 on the season with a 14-7 dual mark. She went 6-3 at No. 6 and was 8-2 on the year in SoCon play. She is second for the Spartans in wins behind Wilkins.

Trivette earned his first coach of the year award on the women's side after leading UNCG to its first league title since 1999 and first-ever outright SoCon title. The Spartans, who jumped into the Campbell/ITA Women's Team Rankings at No. 74 late in the season, are 16-5 overall and went 10-0 in the league for the first time in school history.

Trivette, who was the league's men's coach of the year in 2001, is UNCG's first SoCon Coach of the Year for the Spartan women since Paul Lubbers took the award in 1999. He becomes just the third coach in league history to earn the honor on both the men's and women's sides, joining Chattanooga's Tommy Bartlett and East Tennessee State's David Mullins.

UNCG, the top seed at this week's SoCon Championship in Charleston, S.C, begins its quest for its first-ever SoCon tournament title on Friday at 8:30 a.m. The Spartans will face the winner of Thursday's 8/9 match between Georgia Southern and Davidson.

First Team
Kelly Kambourelis, College of Charleston
Christin Newman, College of Charleston
Jordan Johnston, Elon
Paola Garrido, Georgia Southern
Niltooli Wilkins, UNCG
Jenna Nurik, Chattanooga

Frida Jansaker/Jordan Johnston, Elon
Niltooli Wilkins/Lucy Dougherty, UNCG
Kristen Lewis/Lindsey Mallory, Samford

Second Team
Singles (by position)
No. 1 – Lauren Kline, Furman
No. 2 – Brites Moniz-Soares, Davidson
No. 3 – Frida Jansaker, Elon
    Annette Rios, UNCG
No. 4 – Samantha Maddox, College of Charleston
No. 5 – Jenny Falcone, College of Charleston
No. 6 – Amanda Murray, Furman
             Stephanie Falcon, UNCG

Doubles (by position)
No. 1 – Samantha Maddox/Irene Viana, CofC
No. 2 – Jenny Falcone/Kelly Kambourelis, CofC
No. 3 – Kayla Gammie/Annette Rios, UNCG
Samantha Maddox, College of Charleston
Jenny Falcone, College of Charleston
Barbora Lazarova, Elon
Alex Moreno-Kaste, Furman
Stephanie N'tcha, Samford
Kaylene Chadwell, Chattanooga

Player of the Year
Niltooli Wilkins, UNCG

Freshman of the Year
Kaylene Chadwell, Chattanooga

Sportsmanship Award
Christin Newman, College of Charleston

Coach of the Year
Jeff Trivette, UNCG

- UNCG -

MORE FROM UNCG Women's Tennis


Spartan Club 5-02-2018
Spiro's Ball 2018
Volleyball 4-09-2018
2017 Volleyball Highlights
Men's Basketball 3-27-2018
Men's Basketball Banquet Highlights
SoCon Digital Network