Travel Center
Article Image
UNCG menís tennis senior Ahmet Sarioglu was named Southern Conference first team in singles while junior Randy Phillips and sophomore James Dougherty were second team in doubles, the league announced Monday.

Sarioglu Headlines SoCon Men's Tennis Postseason Awards

Release: April 14, 2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – UNCG men’s tennis senior Ahmet Sarioglu (Ankera, Turkey/METU Development Foundation) was named Southern Conference first team in singles while junior Randy Phillips (Snellville, Ga./Brookwood) and sophomore James Dougherty (Melbourne, Australia) were second team in doubles, the league announced Monday. 

Sarioglu earned a first team All-SoCon selection in singles for the second-straight season after a 4-3 record against league foes. Sarioglu was 9-7 overall playing No. 1 singles and finished the season with a three-match winning streak.

Dougherty and Phillips were named second team All-SoCon in doubles at the No. 1 position. The pair was 10-4 during the spring season with a 3-2 conference record playing all 14 matches at No. 1 doubles.

The UNCG men's tennis team earned the third seed in this week's tournament. The Spartans play its first match on Thursday, April 17, at 10:30 a.m. at the Champions Club in Chattanooga, Tenn. against sixth-seeded Georgia Southern. 

Elon’s Cameron Silverman becomes the first player since College of Charleston’s Or Dekel (2006, 2007) to repeat as the conference’s Player of the Year.  Silverman joins Dekel (2004, 2006, 2007), ETSU’s Yasser Zaatini (1990, 1992, 1993), Davidson’s Jon Pastel (1996, 1997) and UNCG’s Orcun Seyrek (2009, 2012) as the only five student-athletes to win the league’s top award multiple times in their career.

Follow all the action about the 2013-14 UNCG men's tennis team on or on twitter @UNCGMTennis. 

2014 SoCon Men’s Tennis Postseason Awards

First Team


Stefan Fortmann, Elon

Cameron Silverman, Elon

Adam Steryous, Furman

Oliver Webb, Georgia Southern

Ahmet Sarioglu, UNCG

Elliot Barnwell, Samford


Zach Bost/Sebastien King, Appalachian State

Cameron Silverman/Jordan Kaufman, Elon

Matt Browne/Joel Cook, Furman

Second Team

Singles (by position)

No. 1 – Rob Galloway, Wofford

No. 2 – Fares Kilani, Samford

No. 3 – Robert Lindgren, Elon

No. 4 – Brian Kowalski, Elon

No. 5 – Jordan Kaufman, Elon

No. 6 – Ben Horst, Furman

Doubles (by position)

No. 1 – James Dougherty/Randy Phillips, UNCG

No. 2 – Oliver Casey/Daniel Hoang, Appalachian State

No. 3 – Stefan Fortmann/Juan Madrid, Elon


Oliver Casey, Appalachian State

Daniel Hoang, Appalachian State

Jack Maddocks, Appalachian State

Adam Steryous, Furman

Liam Sullivan, Samford

Haris Poric, Wofford

Player of the Year

Cameron Silverman, Elon

Freshman of the Year

Adam Steryous, Furman

Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award

Walker Heffron, Wofford

Coach of the Year

Michael Leonard, Elon


    #letsgoG social meda slider
    Online Store Grand Opening
    SoCon Digital Network slider