Seyrek named SoCon Men's Tennis Player of the Year, two more honored 04-16-2012

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – UNCG senior Orcun Seyrek was named the Southern Conference Men's Tennis Player of the Year for the second time in his career, while Ahmet Sarioglu and Randy Phillips also earned postseason honors, the league office announced Tuesday.

Seyrek was a first-team All-SoCon selection in singles and doubles, while Sarioglu was a first-team doubles pick with Seyrek and a second-team singles selection. Phillips earned SoCon All-Freshman honors.

Seyrek bookended his career with player of the year awards, as he also took the honor in 2009, when he was the league's freshman of the year, as well. He became just the fourth player in league history to earn multiple player of the year awards.

The Istanbul, Turkey, native is 19-9 overall in singles on the season and 16-5 in dual play at No. 1. He went 10-0 in SoCon play. He and Sarioglu teamed to go 15-10 overall in doubles with a 13-8 dual mark at No. 1. They were 7-3 in league play.

Seyrek was a first-team singles selection for the fourth straight year and a first-team doubles selection for the third straight season. Seyrek becomes just the fourth player in conference history to earn first-team singles honors four times and first-team doubles honors at least three times. He is just the second to earn first-team doubles honors with three different partners.

Sarioglu, a sophomore from Ankera, Turkey, took second-team singles honors for the second straight season. After taking the distinction at No. 4 last season, Sarioglu was voted in at No. 2 this season. He has posted a team-best 21-9 record, including a 15-6 dual mark. He was 9-1 in SoCon play.

Phillips is 15-15 overall in singles and 11-10 in dual play in his rookie campaign, mostly at No. 4. The Snellville, Ga., native was 6-4 in SoCon play. He is 18-11 overall in doubles play, including a 12-9 dual mark with Chanon Varapongsittikul, all at No. 2. The duo was 7-3 in the SoCon.

UNCG finished the regular season 9-12 overall and 6-4 in league play. The fourth-seeded Spartans will face No. 5 seed Furman (8-14-1, 5-4-1 SoCon) in the quarterfinals of the Southern Conference Men's Tennis Championship in Mt. Pleasant, S.C., on Friday at 10:30 a.m. at the College of Charleston Tennis Center at Patriots Point.

2012 SoCon Men's Tennis Postseason Awards
First Team
Mickael Trintignac, College of Charleston
David Orces, The Citadel
Cameron Silverman, Elon
Andrew Mellow, Furman
Orcun Seyrek, UNCG
Zac Dunkle, Samford

Mickael Trintignac/Kyle Parker, CofC
Cameron Silverman/Eric Turner, Elon
Orcun Seyrek/Ahmet Sarioglu, UNCG

Second Team
Singles (by position)
No. 1 – Roberto Vieira, Chattanooga
No. 2 – Ahmet Sarioglu, UNCG
No. 3 – Elliot Barnwell, Samford
No. 4 – Crescente Lesser, College of Charleston
No. 5 – Alexander Sajonz, Samford
No. 6 – Matt Saltsgaver, Appalachian State

Doubles (by position)
No. 1 – Sebastien King/Philip Kloc, ASU
No. 2 – Alain Humblet/Alex Markov, ASU
No. 3 – Fernando Costa/Carson Kadi, Samford
Alon Faiman, CofC
Nicky Kunz, Davidson
Stefan Fortmann, Elon
Jordan Kaufman, Elon
Randy Phillips, UNCG
Rob Galloway, Wofford

Player of the Year
Orcun Seyrek, UNCG

Freshman of the Year
Stefan Fortmann, Elon

Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award
Alain Humblet, Appalachian State

Coach of the Year
Jay Bruner, College of Charleston

- UNCG -



Spartan Club 5-02-2018
Spiro's Ball 2018
Volleyball 4-09-2018
2017 Volleyball Highlights
Men's Basketball 3-27-2018
Men's Basketball Banquet Highlights
SoCon Digital Network