Katelyn Bedwell Earns NFCA All-Region Honors

UNCGSpartans.com 05-15-2013
Courtesy: UNCGSpartans.com

NFCA All-Region Teams

The National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) has named UNCG softball player Katelyn Bedwell (Surrey, B.C./Elgin Park) to its Mideast All-Region First Team as announced on Thursday.  

"KB is a tough hitter to throw to and was our leading run producer this season," said Janelle Breneman. "I am glad she is being recognized for her efforts on the field this season."

Bedwell, a first team All-Conference selection at designated player, becomes just the third Spartan all-time to be named first team All-Region joining Penny Thompson (2002) and Alex Emeterio (2010). 

The junior designated player had a solid season tying her career high with 11 home runs and setting a new career-best driving in 52 RBI, which is third most in school history. Bedwell was second on the team with a .366 average on 64 hits, 25 runs scored, eight doubles and a triple. The Surrey, B.C. native had 17 multi-hit games and 12 multi-RBI contests, including trying her career-high with five RBI against Virginia Tech.  

The Blue and Gold finished the season with a 38-19 record, falling in the SoCon championship game, 1-0, in 11 innings against Georgia Southern. It marks the most wins in a decade when the Spartans won 38 games in 2003.

Be sure to follow all updates about the UNCG softball season on www.uncgspartans.com or on twitter @UNCGsports/@UNCGsoftball.  

Mideast Region First Team
Pos.  Name  School
P Sara Nevins University of South Florida
P Hanna Mennenga Eastern Illinois University
C Elizabeth Kay Illinois State University
1B Laura Canopy Illinois State University
2B Carly Willert Eastern Illinois University
3B Alex McDavid Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
SS Kourtney Salvarola University of South Florida
OF Tomeka Watson Elon University
OF Carleigh Nester Elon University
OF Whitney Fletcher University of Alabama at Birmingham
UT/P Madeline Lynch-Crumrine Bradley University
UT/Non-P Katelyn Bedwell UNCG
   Second Team
Pos.  Name  School
P Andi Williamson Marshall University
P Lannah Campbell University of Alabama at Birmingham
P Emma Johnson Kent State University
C Lauren Gellerman Ohio University
1B Stephanie Medina University of South Florida
2B Raquel Howes Eastern Kentucky University
3B Shelby Wilson Indiana State University
SS Caitlin Attfield University of Alabama at Birmingham
OF Allie Cashion Appalachian State University
OF Alexis Anderson Southeast Missouri State University
OF Ashley Gue Marshall University
UT/P None  
DP/UT-Non-P Kristen McGrath

University of Alabama at Birmingham




Spartan Club 5-02-2018
Spiro's Ball 2018
Volleyball 4-09-2018
2017 Volleyball Highlights
Men's Basketball 3-27-2018
Men's Basketball Banquet Highlights
SoCon Digital Network