UNCG hall-of-famer Jack Poland was selected as the coach of the Big South women's soccer All-Decade team.
UNCG hall-of-famer Jack Poland was selected as the coach of the Big South women's soccer All-Decade team.
Courtesy: UNCGSpartans.com

UNCG lands on Big South Women's Soccer All-Decade Teams

UNCGSpartans.com 11-06-2013

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – As part of the Big South’s 30th Anniversary celebration in 2013-14, the Conference is announcing its first-ever All-Decade Teams to recognize the student-athletes and coaches who excelled in their respective sport since the Conference’s founding in 1983.  A committee of Big South Conference administrators served as the official voting panel to determine the All-Decade Teams, with fan voting comprising 20 percent of the overall total.

UNCG recently celebrated its 25th year anniversary of the first-ever team from 1988. The Spartans placed three former student-athletes and head coach Jack Poland on the Big South’s All-Decade team. Forward Ali Lord, defenders Raila Maisonlahti and Joy Scott were selected to the 14-member team.

In 25 seasons, the UNCG women’s soccer program has had two All-Americans, four Hall-of-Famers, nine conference Player of the Year selections, 15 regular season championships, 42 NSCAA All-Region players and has been to the NCAA Tournament eight times. Joining Poland in the UNCG hall of fame is Ali Lord (1995-98), Raila Maisonlahti (1994-97) and Laura Mussulman (1998-91).  

Women’s Soccer All-Decade Team candidates were determined based on being at least one of the following: 1) Was a multiple All-Conference honoree; 2) Was named an All-American; 3) Is a member of the Big South Conference Hall of Fame; 4) Student-athletes must be a college graduate or left their respective institution in good academic standing; and 5) Won a Conference Championship as a coach and/or was voted Conference Coach of the Year.  Candidates that participated in two different decades were placed in a specific decade based on consultation from member institutions.  Member institutions also had final determination in regards to inclusion of student-athletes and coaches.

Position – Name, School (Notes)
F – Wendy Ennis, Charleston Southern (Rookie of the Year, 4-time All-Conference)
F – Ali Lord, UNCG (All-American, Player of the Year, 2-time All-Conference)

F – Hilla Rantala, South Alabama (Freshman All-American, Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year)

F – Denise Schilte, UMBC (Player of the Year, 3-time All-Conference)

F – Sue Williams, Radford (Hermann Trophy Finalist, All-American, Player of the Year)

MF – Laura Dvorak, UMBC (3-time All-Conference)

MF – Alison Gehringer, UNC Asheville (Big South Tournament MVP, 3-time All-Conference)

MF – Mary Milligan, UNC Asheville (3-time All-Conference)

MF – Mary Pipilas, Charleston Southern (4-time All-Conference)

D – Shannon Bagrosky, UMBC (4-time All-Conference)

D – Mandy Dietrich, Radford (3-time All-Conference)

D – Raila Maisonlahti, UNCG (Rookie of the Year, Big South Tournament MVP, 2-time All-Conference)

D – Joy Scott, UNCG (4-time All-Conference)

GK – Jill Young, UNC Asheville (Big South Tournament MVP, 3-time All-Conference, Big South Hall of Fame member)

Head Coach, School (Notes) -
Jack Poland, UNCG (2 Championships, 1 NCAA Tournament, 2-time Coach of the Year, 23-0-0 Big South record, 52-24-3 overall)

Be sure to follow all updates about the 2013 UNCG women’s soccer team on www.uncgspartans.com or on twitter @UNCGsports/@UNCGWSoccer.


MORE FROM UNCG Women's Soccer


Spartan Club 5-02-2018
Spiro's Ball 2018
Volleyball 4-09-2018
2017 Volleyball Highlights
Men's Basketball 3-27-2018
Men's Basketball Banquet Highlights
SoCon Digital Network