Fanny Cnops Earns Bid Into NCAA Central Regional 04-28-2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. – UNCG sophomore women's golfer Fanny Cnops (Ghent, Belgium/K.A. Voskenslaan) was selected as just one of 18 individuals to earn an NCAA Tournament Regional bid by the NCAA Women's Golf Committee, joining 72 team selections in three regionals May 9-11. This is the second straight season that Cnops has been chosen as an NCAA Regional particpant.

"This is a very well deserved honor for Fanny," head coach Sarah Sargent said. "She is one of the top golfers in the country and this is a reward for all of her hard work. This is her second year participating in the regional and that experience will help her in Oklahoma. This is a great course for her game and we are excited for the opportunity she has to compete against the best golfers in the nation."

Cnops earned a bid to play as one of six individuals in the Central Regional, hosted by the University of Oklahoma at Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club in Norman. Twenty-four teams were also selected to play in the Central Region, where a total of 126 golfers will compete for a chance to advance to the NCAA Championship Finals. Eight teams and two individuals from each regional will advance to the finals.

Cnops is a two-time Southern Conference Player of the Year selection, earning her second straight honor this season after leading the league with a 73.09 stroke average. She posted four top five finishes, eight top 20 finishes and placed in the top 25 in all 10 events this year. Additionally, she represented her home country of Belgium in 2012 World Team Championships in Turkey, finishing 12th overall.

The championships finals will be held May 21-24 at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Georgia and will be hosted by the University of Georgia.


East Regional
The East regional will be played at the Auburn University Club in Auburn, Alabama and will be hosted by Auburn University.  Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

University of Alabama (Southeastern Conference)
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
University of California, Los Angeles
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
University of Virginia
Oklahoma State University (Big 12 Conference)
Tulane University (Conference USA)
University of Texas at Austin
University of Notre Dame (Big East Conference)
Northwestern University (Big Ten Conference)
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
University of Kentucky
Texas State University- San Marcos
Auburn University
University of Central Florida
Pennsylvania State University
East Carolina University
Florida International University (Sun Belt Conference)
University of Mississippi
East Tennessee State University (Atlantic Sun Conference)
University of Tennessee, Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
James Madison University (Colonial Athletic Association)
Eastern Kentucky University (Ohio Valley Conference)
Alabama State University (Southwestern Athletic Conference)
Natalie Wille, Augusta State University
Kelly Shon, Princeton University
Casey Kennedy, Augusta State University
Isabel Southard, Boston College
Shu-Yin Liu, University of Tulsa
Kristina Merkle, University of Tulsa

Central Regional
The Central regional will be played at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club in Norman, Oklahoma. The University of Oklahoma will host.  Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Duke University (Atlantic Coast Conference)
Univesity of Oklahoma
University of Florida
University of Washington
Arizona State University
University of California, Davis (Big West Conference)
Texas Tech University
North Carolina State University
Michigan State University
Iowa State University
Southern Methodist University
Campbell University
Coastal Carolina University (Big South Conference)
Wake Forest University
Texas Christian University
Gonzaga University
Indiana University, Bloomington
University of Texas San Antonio
Mississippi State University
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Lamar University (Southland Conference)
Illinois State University (Missouri Valley Conference)
University of Detroit Mercy (Horizon League)
Butler University (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

Fanny Cnops, UNCG
Lori Beth Adams, University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Emma Henrikson, San Diego State University
Julia Roth, University of Central Arkansas
Paige Spiranic, San Diego State University
Christine Wong, San Diego State University

West Regional
The West regional will be played at the Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, California. Stanford University will serve as the host institution.  Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

University of Southern California (Pac-12 Conference)
University of Arizona
Vanderbilt University
Purdue University
Stanford University
University of Georgia
Baylor University
Texas A&M University, College Station
Pepperdine University (West Coast Conference)
Louisiana State University
University of Denver (Western Athletic Conference)
University of South Carolina, Columbia
The Ohio State University
University of Oregon
University of Nevada, Las Vegas (Mountain West Conference)
University of California, Berkeley
Florida State University
University of Miami (Florida)
San Jose State University
Harvard University (The Ivy League)
Kent State University (Mid-American Conference)
Northern Arizona University (Big Sky Conference)
North Dakota State University (The Summit League)
Long Island University (Northeast Conference)

Laura Wearn, Furman University
Jennifer Coleman, University of Colorado, Boulder
Sammi Stevens, University of New Mexico
A Ram Choi, Portland State University
Luciane Lee, University of California, Irvine
Michelle Park, University of California, Irvine

- UNCG -




Spartan Club 5-02-2018
Spiro's Ball 2018
Volleyball 4-09-2018
2017 Volleyball Highlights
Men's Basketball 3-27-2018
Men's Basketball Banquet Highlights
SoCon Digital Network