UNCG put three former players on the Big South All-Decade Team (1990-99).
UNCG put three former players on the Big South All-Decade Team (1990-99).
Courtesy: Photo Courtesy of Tim Cowie

Baseball Trio Named To Big South All Decade Team

UNCGSpartans.com 06-05-2014

GREENSBORO, N.C. – As part of the Big South’s 30th Anniversary celebration in 2013-14, the Conference is announcing its first-ever All-Decade Teams to recognize the student-athletes and coaches who excelled in their respective sport since the Conference’s founding in 1983. 

A committee of Big South Conference administrators served as the official voting panel to determine the All-Decade Teams, with fan voting comprising 20 percent of the overall total. The Spartans placed Jason Parsons, Dominic Pattie and Nick Phillips on the 1990-99 All-Decade Team. The trio led UNCG to a pair of Big South regular season titles and two berths to the NCAA Tournament.

Parsons was one of the most decorated pitchers to ever come through the UNCG baseball program. He earned Third Team All-America honors and first-team all-conference recognition following the 1997 season in which the Spartans earned their second-ever berth to the NCAA tournament. He was tabbed the Big South Tournament MVP after leading the Blue and Gold to the championship through the losers bracket. Parsons earned five weekly honors from the league and still holds the Big South single-season record for victories with 15 in 1997. He also paced the circuit with eight saves that season. In the UNCG career record book, Parsons is tops in wins and saves.

Phillips picked up a pair of Big South First-Team selections in 1996 and 1997 and was tabbed to the second team in 1996. He was named to the 1997 Big South All-Tournament Team and led the league with a .385 batting average that season. Phillips also paced the Big South in RBI (72) and stolen bases (45) in 1997 while leading the league in triples (8) a year prior.

Pattie, the UNCG career leader in hits, runs and stolen bases, had quite the season in 1997. He was selected Third Team All-America and First Team All-Big South while earning a spot on the Big South All-Tournament Team. Pattie was also a two-time Big South Player of the Week honoree and led the league in hits (100) and runs scored (72) that season. In addition to his on-field accomplishments, he garnered the 1996 Big South Scholar Athlete of the Year award.

Baseball All-Decade Team candidates were determined based on being at least one of the following: 1) Was a multiple All-Conference honoree at one or more position; 2) Was named an All-American; 3) Is a member of the Big South Conference Hall of Fame; 4) Student-athletes must have been a college graduate or left their respective institution in good academic standing; and 5) Won a Conference Championship as a coach and/or was voted Conference Coach of the Year; and 6) Every All-Conference honoree and Tournament MVP from 1986-89 was included in the candidate pool for the 1986-89 All-Decade Team.  Candidates that participated in two different decades were placed in a specific decade based on consultation from member institutions. Candidates were also listed under their primary position during their careers. Member institutions had final determination in regards to inclusion of student-athletes and coaches.

P – Mark Cisar, Charleston Southern               

P – Ron Deubel, Coastal Carolina                    
P – Bryan Link, Winthrop                                   
P – Kevin Loewe, UMBC                                    
P – Benji Miller, Liberty                                      
P – Jason Parsons, UNC Greensboro                
OF – Joe Colameco, Winthrop                           

OF – Duane Filchner, Radford                           
OF – Brooks Marzka, Coastal Carolina          
OF – Nick Phillips, UNC Greensboro                 
OF – Mark Romer, Coastal Carolina               

INF – Jeff Berman, UMBC                                
INF – Kelly Dampeer, Radford                         
INF – Jeremy Keller, Winthrop                          
INF – Dominic Pattie, UNC Greensboro          
INF – Denny Van Pelt, Radford                        

INF – Ty Wigginton, UNC Asheville                 
C – David Benham, Liberty                               
UTL – J.C. Hendrix, Campbell                          
UTL – Luis Lopez, Coastal Carolina                
DH – Eric Filipek, UNC Asheville                      
Head Coach - Joe Hudak, Winthrop 



Spartan Club 5-02-2018
Spiro's Ball 2018
Volleyball 4-09-2018
2017 Volleyball Highlights
Men's Basketball 3-27-2018
Men's Basketball Banquet Highlights
SoCon Digital Network