Print this article - Men's Golf Wins First-Ever SoCon Championship print
Article rss feed - Men's Golf Wins First-Ever SoCon Championship rss

PINEHURST, N.C. – The UNCG men’s golf team won its first-ever Southern Conference Championship by five strokes with a team-score of 18-over par 882 (297-285-300) in windy and rainy conditions on Tuesday at the par-72, 7,118-yard Pinehurst No. 9. Freshman Nick Lyerly became the second Spartan to win the SoCon Individual Championship, turning in a 4-under 212 (73-70-69) for the only sub-par score in the field. 

UNCG clinches the automatic bid for the NCAA Regionals on May 14-16 for the program’s second NCAA appearance after earning an at-large bid in 2013-14. The selection show for the regionals will be on May 2 at 5:30 p.m. on the Golf Channel.

Chattanooga (290-304-293) finished in second place five strokes behind UNCG. ETSU (292-302-297) came in third place at 27-over 891, and Furman (301-294-306) finished 10 strokes behind for fourth place.

Terrance Stewart was named the SoCon Coach of the year after guiding the Spartans to win in the championship after finishing runner-up for the last three years. Stewart is the first coach in program history to win the award from the conference and had a league-best three golfers named to the all-conference team. The three all-conference selections matches last year as the most in program history.

Lyerly was just one of two golfers to finish below-par. In his 3-under 69 in the final round, he shot 2-under 34 on the back-nine with birdies on holes 10 and 14. He was given freshman of the year honors and was also named to the all-conference and all-freshman teams. UNCG has won the freshman award five of the past six years, with junior Bryce Hendrix and sophomore Jonathan Brightwell winning the awards the last two years.

Senior Josh Stockwell finished in a tie for fourth place at 3-over 219 (74-69-76) and was named to the all-conference team. Joining him on the All-SoCon Team was Hendrix. He tied for 11th place at 7-over 223 (72-71-80).

Sophomore Jonathan Brightwell registered the second-best score of the day for UNCG at 3-over 75 and tied for 18th place at 12-over 228 (78-75-75). Brightwell earned the Pinnacle Award for the highest GPA on the championship-winning team with a 3.03 GPA. Sophomore Grant Powell came in 34th place at 26-over 242 (83-76-83). 

Player of the Year

Keller Harper, So., Furman

Freshman of the Year

Nick Lyerly, UNCG

Coach of the Year

Terrance Stewart, UNCG

Pinnacle Award (highest GPA on championship-winning team)

Jonathan Brightwell, UNCG

All-Southern Conference

Shiso Go, Fr., ETSU

Guentae Kim, Jr., ETSU

Connor Bruns, Jr., Furman

Keller Harper, So., Furman

Stanton Schorr, Jr., Mercer

Bryce Hendrix, Jr., UNCG

Nick Lyerly, Fr., UNCG

Josh Stockwell, Sr., UNCG

Lake Johnson, Jr., Chattanooga

Luke Long, So., Chattanooga 


Shiso Go, ETSU

Jack Rhea, ETSU

Lino Galdin, Mercer

Nick Lyerly, UNCG

Nick Willis, Wofford 

-- UNCG –